The CEFS Newbies: 4 City Slickers on 30 Acres in Goldsboro, North Cowalina

First steps in Goldsboro

Myeasha’s First steps in Goldsboro

Who would ever guess that I’d end in rural Goldsboro NC from D.C.? A City girl in a country world is what I often say.

This’ll be my first time living further away from my hometown in D.C. As a matter of fact, it has only been three weeks and I’ve had so many first times. So here’s a breakdown.

First Week:

On my first day of work in Goldsboro, I worked on the CEFS dairy unit. I was a bit hesitant to go because of all the precautions given before about cows stepping or going on your feet, but it turned out to be a really great experience. I went to the pastures to get the dairy cows, fed them, helped identify the cows that were ready to be bred, and participated in the whole systematic process of milking. By the second week, I was comfortable enough putting the milking devices on their utters. Though I was still a little nervous about becoming a toilet or kicking target for a cow that wasn’t quite ready to be milked, I think I got through two weeks in the dairy unit quite successfully. Now, I’m always asking myself, “Will these will be your last days of eating beef?” This is the closest I’ve ever been to my food before it becomes “food”. I still eat burgers every now and then. So maybe not quite yet.

Myeasha after a day's work at the CEFS dairy unit

Myeasha after a day’s work at the CEFS dairy unit.

First Harvest:

Aside from leaving D.C. to expand my experience in organic farming, I was came down to the south for some good ol’ mid 60s weather. Let’s just say, North Carolina didn’t quite greet me that way. I think most of us apprentices weren’t expecting such windy and cold weather. However, we prevailed. We harvested 10 lbs of fresh salad mix for the Salvation Army’s daily food pantry. Don’t be fooled by the hint of sunlight peeking into the high tunnel. It was such a cold day!

(Left to right) apprentices Philip, Jordan, Angela and farm manager Marisa.

(Left to right) apprentices Phillip, Jordan, Angela and farm manager Marisa.

First Lessons:

Jordan ecstatically handling our pest problem.

Jordan ecstatically handling our pest problem.

After going over our apprenticeship SMART goals for that we each individually created, we went out to the farm.Jordan got to use the pesticide backpack sprayer for the first time. Fortunately, we use soapy water solutions and other organic pest control techniques instead of using toxic chemicals that harm our soil, plants, or farmers. As you can tell, he’s pretty excited about wiping out those aphids that are trying to suck all the nutrients from our plants. I think it was a pretty exciting day for Angela too but, Philip looks rather scared.

(Left to right) Philip and Angela take a ride for the first time in the Gator.

(Left to right) Phillip and Angela take a ride for the first time in the Gator.

During my first beekeeping class with Neuse Regional Beekeeping Club, I got close to bees on purpose. I learned so much about (bee)havior. For instance, inside this small frame are a few worker bees and the selected queen bee. The worker bees are responsible for feeding and protecting her queen bee before establishing the new colony, sometimes they even compete for the title.

New queen bee( with green dot) and worker bees

New queen bee( with green dot) and worker bees.

I must say Goldsboro has been quite the place so far. I’m really loving my day to day and week to week. We have a journey ahead of us for the next 8 months. Join us as we navigate it!

Leave a Reply

